Databases

This subject resource guide is available courtesy of Kali Morse ? 2009.? ?She can be contacted at kalimorse@yahoo.com.

Introduction -? Atlases and Biographies -? Databases -? Journals -? Observatories and Organizations -? Reference Works -? Web Resources

DATABASES

AeroBase. (2009). Morrisville, NC: Dialog LCC. Dialog file 104.

AeroBase provides references, abstracts, and controlled-vocabulary indexing of key scientific and technical documents, as well as books, reports, and conferences, covering aerospace research and development. This database supports basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences, as well as technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics.

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AAIA) Electronic Library. (2009) Reston, VA: American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Inc. Retrieved from? http://www.aiaa.org/content.cfm?pageid=298

The AIAA electronic library contains more than four decades of technical information and documents.? Look for full-text research from the dawn of the space age ? to today’s important breakthroughs ? to the research that will transform aerospace science in the decades ahead.? Information indexed comes from Journal of Aircraft, Journal of Propulsion and Power, Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets, among many other sources.

Applied Science and Technology Full Text: Wilson Omnifile. (2009). H.W. Wilson Company.
Retrieved from Drexel library subscription.

Citations from 1983-present; abstracts from 1994-present. Provides information on management, careers and employment, and financial trends in the scientific and technological fields. Includes interviews, meetings, conferences, exhibitions, discussions, corrections, continued articles, new product reviews, new product announcements, technically valuable editorials and letters, tables, charts, diagrams, buyers? guides, directories, and conference proceedings.

ArXiv.org (2009).? Ithaca, NY: Cornell University Library. Retrieved from http://arxiv.org/archive/astro-ph

ArXiv.org is a open source, fully automated electronic archive and distribution server for research papers since 1992 and is particularly useful for retrieving pre-prints.

Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC). (2009). Department of Defense. Retrieved from
http://www.dtic.mil/dtic/ .

The Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC?) serves the DoD community as the largest central resource for DoD and government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.

Gale Group Aerospace/Defense Markets & Technology. Dialog file 80.

The database provides full-text articles and abstracts covering all aspects of the worldwide aerospace industry.? It covers key industry sources, provides details on products and technologies, monitors government funding, budgets, and contracts.

INSPEC. (2009). Elsevier Inc. Retrieved from Drexel library subscription.

1969-current. Primary coverage is journal articles and papers presented at conferences, although significant books, technical reports, and dissertations are also included. Sources include more than 4,000 journals and more than 2,000 conference proceedings, books, and reports corresponding to the following publications: Physics Abstracts, Electrical & Electronics Abstracts, and Computer & Control Abstracts, as well as to the online INSPEC database.

NASA?s Astrophysics Data System Bibliographic Service. (2009). NASA. Retrieved from
http://adswww.harvard.edu/ads_abstracts.html

1982-present. The Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a NASA-funded project whose main resource is an Abstract Service, which includes four sets of abstracts: Astronomy and astrophysics Instrumentation Physics and geophysics Los Alamos preprint server. Each dataset can be searched by author, object name (astronomy only), title, or abstract text words. of architect/designer and/or location and/or magazine.

NASA Science and Technical Information. (2009).? Retrieved from
http://www.sti.nasa.gov/STI-public-homepage.html

STI (scientific and technical information) is the collected set of facts, analyses, and conclusions resulting from scientific, technical, and related engineering research and development efforts, both basic and applied.

National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Retrieved from
http://www.ntis.gov/

The National Technical Information Service serves as the largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information available today.? The NTIS database offers over 2 million bibliographic records covering 350 subjects.? Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. On average, NTIS has added over 60,000 new records per year to the Database over the past ten years. Most records include abstracts.

Meteorologial and Geoatrophysical Abstracts. Dialog file 29.

This collection provides current citations to international literature on meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, astrophysics, hydrology, glaciology, physical oceanography and environmental sciences. More than 600 sources, including conference proceedings, books, technical reports, and other monographs are scanned for relevant literature.

SciSearch ? A cited reference science database. Thomson Scientific. Dialog files 34 and 434.

An international, multidisciplinary index to the literature of science, technology, biomedicine, and related disciplines produced by Thomson Scientific.? SciSearch contains all of the records published in the Science Citation Index? (SCI?), plus additional records in engineering technology, physical sciences, agriculture, biology, environmental sciences, clinical medicine, and the life sciences.? SciSearch indexes all significant items (articles, review papers, meeting abstracts, letters, editorials, book reviews, correction notices, etc.) from more than 6,100 international scientific and technical journals.

Science Watch. (2009). Philadelphia, Thomson Reuters. Retrieved from http://sciencewatch.com/

ScienceWatch.comSM (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science IndicatorsSM from Thomson Reuters and other products of the Research Services Group. Read interviews and first-person essays about people in a wide variety of fields and professions.? Archived information from the original sites are available at http://esi-topics.com/ , http://in-cites.com/ , and http://www.scientific.thomson.com/ .

Web of Science. (2009). Philadelphia, Office of Science within the U.S. Department of Energy.? Retrieved from http://www.osti.gov/

At OSTI you can find research results and science information from the Manhattan Project to the present, download documents, view energy citations, discover patents and e-prints, read about ongoing research projects and amazing accomplishments, search science conference proceedings and software, and connect to U.S. and global science portals.

IntroductionAtlases and BiographiesDatabasesJournalsObservatories and OrganizationsReference WorksWeb Resources

This subject resource guide is available courtesy of Kali Morse ? 2009. She can be contacted at kalimorse@yahoo.com.