Introduction??? ?Archives and Databases???? Associations???? Journals and Publications???? Monographs, Textbooks and Overview Works???? Reference Works???? Research Groups and Organizations???? Websites and Interactive Resources
Access Science ? http://www.accessscience.com
Presented by McGraw-Hill it contains over 8,500 articles from the ?McGraw-Hill Encylopedia of Science and Technology 10th ed.?, research updates, definitions for over 110,000 terms, biographies, current content from thousands of scientist, and recent news and resources in the fields of science and technology.
arXiv.org ? http://arXiv.org
?Open access to 554,955 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics?
arXiv.org. (2009).? Retrieved August 16, 2009, from: http://arxiv.org/.?
CERN Document Server ? http://cdsweb.cern.ch/
?Over 900,000 bibliographic records, including 360,000 fulltext documents, of interest to people working in particle physics and related areas. Covers preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and much more.?
CERN Document Server.(2009). Retrieved July 18, 2009, from: http://cdsweb.cern.ch/.
Chemical Abstracts (Dialog Files 204, 308-314, 399) (SciFinder Scholar) ? http://www.cas.org/?
?CAS offers the CAS REGISTRYSM – the largest collection of substance information – as well as indexed references from more than 10,000 major scientific journals and 59 patent authorities around the world.? CAS databases are:
Built and quality controlled by CAS scientists
Accessed via SciFinder and STN – award-winning search and analysis tools
A single resource for both patents and journal articles?
Chemical Abstracts Service A Division of the American Chemical Society. (2009). Retrieved August 15, 2009, from: http://www.cas.org/.?
CHEMSEARCH Dialog File 301, 398 ? http://library.dialog.com/bluesheets/html/bl0301.html
“The chemical substance files on DIALOG, CHEMSEARCHTM, File 398, and CHEMNAME?, File 301, are non-bibliographic files of chemical substances registered through Chemical Abstracts Service. Each record describes a single chemical entity, and contains the CAS? Registry Numbers, molecular formula, CA Substance Index Name(s), available synonyms, complete ring data, and other chemical substance information. The primary purpose of these files is to support specific substance searching and various forms of substructure searching in the DIALOG chemical files.?
Dialog CHEMSEARCH [301, 398]. (2009). Retrieved August 15, 2009, from: http://library.dialog.com/bluesheets/html/bl0301.html.
CrossFire Databases Suite – http://info.crossfiredatabases.com/
“The CrossFire Database Suite is comprised of CrossFire Beilstein, CrossFire Gmelin and Patent Chemistry Database. The suite represents a unique, deeply indexed source of experimental data in organic, inorganic and organometallic chemistry. The suite contains:
- Substances: fully searchable chemical structures. Substance records show physical, chemical and bioactivity data ? including pharmacodynamics and (eco-)toxicology data from different publications.
- Reactions: fully searchable single and multi-step reactions, many with reaction procedure texts.
- Citations: indexed from the primary organic, inorganic and organomatellic chemistry journal literature going back to 1772 and patent literature.?
CrossFire Database Suite. (2009). Retrieved August 20, 2009, from: http://info.crossfiredatabases.com/.
Dissertation Abstracts Online (Dialog File 35) ?
?Virtually all accredited institutions in North America that award doctoral degrees submit their dissertations to ProQuest for publication or listing in DAI. The listings provide:
Bibliographic citations that include title, author name, degree- granting university, year awarded, number of pages, and ProQuest order number. Since 1988, most DAI entries have also included the name of the dissertation adviser, committee chair, etc. Titles published from 1980 forward include author abstract 350-word, written by the authors.
Monthly issues of DAI include approximately 5,000 new entries from North America, grouped by subject and printed in two separate sections:
Section A, Humanities and Social Sciences Section B, Sciences and Engineering. DAI Section C, Worldwide, covers non-North American materials, most of them unavailable for purchase from ProQuest. It is published quarterly as a separate volume.
Occasionally a department or student may not submit a dissertation to ProQuest, so DAI is not 100% inclusive. However, we estimate that 95% to 98% of all U. S. doctoral dissertations are included. DAI is the most current of the printed sources for the ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. Published monthly and cumulated annually, it is available both in softcover and on microfiche.?
ProQuest – Dissertation Abstracts. (2009). Retrieved August 21,2009, from: http://www.proquest.com/en-US/catalogs/databases/detail/dai.shtml.
Elemental Data Index – http://physics.nist.gov/PhysRefData
Contains a variety of data including a section on Nuclear Physics with measurements and weights quantified by the National Institute of Standards and Technology.
Energy Citations Database – http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/index.jsp?
?The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 221,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.?
Energy Citations Database. (2009). Retrieved August 21,2009, from: http://www.osti.gov/energycitations/index.jsp.
Energy Files: Energy Science and Technology ? http://www.osti.gov/EnergyFiles
?At this site you will find over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences.
Sponsored, developed, and maintained by the Department of Energy’s Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), EnergyFiles combines information, tools, and technologies to facilitate access to and use of scientific resources. We appreciate your continued support of EnergyFiles and hope it proves to be a valuable tool in your research endeavors.?
Energy Files. (2009). Retrieved August 21,2009, from: http://www.osti.gov/EnergyFiles.
E-Print Network ? http://www.osti.gov/eprints
?The E-print Network is . . .
. . . a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
. . . a gateway to over 32,000 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE. We hope the E-print Network proves valuable to you in supporting your research initiatives.?
E-Print Network. (2009). Retrieved August 21,2009, from: http://www.osti.gov/eprints.
High-Energy Physics Literature Database– http://www-spires.dur.ac.uk/spires/hep/
“The SPIRES-HEP database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960’s as a database of particle physics literature. SLAC also collaborates with other physics institutions around the world on SPIRES. In 1991 it became the first web-site in North America and now attracts around 50,000 searches per day from particle physicists.?
High-Energy Physics Literature Database. (2009). Retrieved August 2, 2009, from: http://www-spires.dur.ac.uk/spires/hep/.
Inspec (Dialog Files 2,3,4,2002) ? http://www.theiet.org/publishing/inspec/products/?
The Inspec bibliographic database contains over ten million records of scientific and technical articles taken from the world’s literature.
Over 4000 scientific and technical journals and some 2200 conference proceedings, as well as numerous books, reports and dissertations are scanned each year by Inspec staff for relevant articles to abstract and index for inclusion in the Database. Of the 4000 journals, around 1600 are indexed cover-to-cover.?
The IET Inspec. (2009). Retrieved August 18, 2009, from: http://www.theiet.org/publishing/inspec/about/.
International Nuclear Information System Database ? http://inisdb2.iaea.org/
??The INIS Database, contains over 3 million bibliographic records and a unique collection of over 200 000 full-text documents (non-conventional “grey” literature ? NCL) in 63 languages, including many documents that cannot easily be found anywhere else.?????
International Nuclear Information System Database. (2009). Retrieved August 2, 2009, from: http://www.iaea.org/inisnkm/inis/aboutinis/overview.htm.
?Material Safety Data Sheets Dialog 332 ? http://library.dialog.com/bluesheets/html/bl0332.html
A searchable database of MSDS sheets including chemical and company names and information. It is searchable by name, hazards identification, physical descriptions, synonyms, and toxicity.
The Merck Index Online ? Dialog File 304
The Merck Index contains encyclopedic knowledge of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals. This online version contains updates, which do not exist in the print version, below is the citation for the print version.
O?Neil, M.J. (Ed.). (2006). The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals. Whitehouse Station, NJ: Merck & Co., Inc.
MSDSSEARCH ? The National MSDS Repository ? http://msdssearch.com/Default.htm
This free searchable database provides links to manufacturers MSDS sheets and is searchable by product code, and manufacturer or chemical name. Results are listed by both name and manufacturer.
Nuclear Science References ? http://www.nndc.bnl.gov/nsr/
?The NSR database is a bibliography of nuclear physics articles, indexed according to content and spanning nearly 100 years of research. Over 80 journals are checked on a regular basis for articles to be included. For more information, see the help page. The NSR database schema and web applications have undergone some recent changes. This is a revised version of the previous NSR Web Interface.?
National Nuclear Data Center, Nuclear Science References. Retrieved August 13, 2009, from: http://www.nndc.bnl.gov/nsr/.
Physics Review Online Archive (PROLA) ? http://prola.aps.org
A searchable archive for all publications by the American Physical Society from 1983-2005. It is updated in January with a new year. It is free to search but articles are by subscription only. Publications include Physical Review A-E, Physical Review Letters, and Reviews of Modern Physics.
?Scitation includes links to many rich sources of information, including ISI’s Web of Science, MEDLINE, Chemport/Chemical Abstracts Service, SPIN database, INSPEC, EDP Sciences, X-ArkiV, SLAC-SPIRES, and other Scitation journals, among others.?
?American Institute of Physics. (2009). Scitation. Retrieved August 2, 2009, from: http://scitation.aip.org/.
Science Accelerator – http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/
?Science Accelerator is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources made available by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), U.S. Department of Energy. Science Accelerator was developed and is made available by OSTI as a free public service.?
Science Accelerator. (2009). Retrieved August 22, 2009, from: http://www.scienceaccelerator.gov/.
Scircus – http://www.scirus.com/
“Scirus is the most comprehensive scientific research tool on the web. With over 450 million scientific items indexed at last count, it allows researchers to search for not only journal content but also scientists’ homepages, courseware, pre-print server material, patents and institutional repository and website information.?
Elsevier. (2009). Scirus. Retrieved August 13, 2009, from: http://www.scirus.com/.
Scitopia – http://www.scitopia.org/scitopia/
“Search over 3.5 million documents, plus patents and government data. Twenty One societies spanning 350 years of sci-tech scholarship help you with your queries.?
Scitopia (2006). Retrieved August 19, 2009, from: http://www.scitopia.org/scitopia/.
SPIN (Searchable Physics Information Notices) (Dialog File 62)
This database covers publications by the American Institute of Physics and its member societies and select American journals in the field of physics. It can be access through Dialog File 62 and is often bundled with web based search platforms.
Spires High-Energy Physics Literature Database
?The SPIRES-HEP database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center(SLAC) since the late 1960’s as a database of particle physics literature. SLAC also collaborates with other physics institutions around the world on SPIRES. In 1991 it became the first web-site in North America and now attracts around 50,000 searches per day from particle physicists.?
Spires. (2007). Retrieved August 13, 2009, from: http://www.slac.stanford.edu/spires/about/.
Web of Science
?Web of Science? provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students with quick, powerful access to the world’s leading citation databases. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 10,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 110,000 conference proceedings. You’ll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage available to 1900.
Web of Science. (2009). Retrieved August 2, 2009, from: http://thomsonreuters.com/products_services/science/science_products/
Introduction???? Archives and Databases Associations??? ?Journals and Publications???? ?Monographs, Textbooks and Overview Works???? Reference Works???? Research Groups and Organizations???? Websites and Interactive Resources