Databases

This Ornithology subject resource guide is available courtesy of Marcia Schiff ? 2009.

IntroductionAssociations and MeetingsDatabasesJournalsMonographs/BooksReference ResourcesWebsites

AGRICOLA

Published by the United States Department of Agriculture, this database is a comprehensive bibliographic resource for agriculture and life sciences of journals, books, theses, and other resources. By typing in the keyword ?ornithology,? over 400 article results are reached. The specific nature of the resources would make this database useful for beginning to advanced birdwatchers, students, and professional ornithologists.

AGRICOLA. (2009). Retrieved August 4, 2009, from http://agricola.nal.usda.gov.

AccessScience

An online science and technology encyclopedia from McGraw-Hill, AccessScience provides an excellent introduction to scientific subjects. By using the keyword ?ornithology,? four articles can be linked to. The article, ?Aves,? covers anatomy, physiology, distinctive features, migration, taxonomy/classification, fossil record and economic significance. But also of note is that at the end of the article is a bibliography that would be an excellent starting point for students and beginning to advanced birdwatchers.

Bock, W. J. (2009). Aves. In AccessScience. Retrieved August 4, 2009, from http://www.accessscience.com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/content.aspx?searchStr=ornithology&id=065700. DOI 10.1036/1097-8542.065700.

AccessScience. (2009). Retrieved August 4, 2009, from http://www.accessscience.com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/index.aspx.

Biological Sciences and Biology Digest

An interdisciplinary database that includes zoological subjects that provides abstracts and citations to scientific research and links to Web sites. By searching on the keyword ?ornithology,? there are currently 3,678 published works classified as all publication types and 175 Web sites; 3,374 journal articles; 3,117 peer-reviewed journals; 179 conference proceedings; and 47 books that are matched. The abstract information includes not only the title of the article, the author, and the journal it is published in, but also includes the author?s affiliation. This Web site is published as CSA ILLUMINA from ProQuest. This database would be useful to beginning to advanced birdwatchers, naturalists, students, and professional ornithologists.

ProQuest CSA ILLUMINA. (2009). Retrieved August 19, 2009, from http://csaweb115v.csa.com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/ids70/results.php?SID=rj8p368m2038s1vr9f2cv9sq47&id=4

BioOne

This is a full-text database for peer-reviewed scientific research journals mostly published by small scientific societies and non-commercial publishers. By searching on the key word ?ornithology,? the researcher will currently have 5,616 results. This database is a not-for-profit collaboration between scientific societies, organizational publishers, libraries, academia, and private industry. This database would be useful to anyone with a serious interest in ornithology from beginning to advanced birdwatchers, students, and professional ornithologists.

BioOne. (2009). Retrieved August 16, 2009, from http://www.bioone.org.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/action/doSearch?fulltext=ornithology&x=6&y=4.

BiologyBrowser

This database is designed for searching topics specific to the life sciences. ?BiologyBrowser, produced by Thomson Reuters, is a free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community.? It draws its resources from its commercial Web sites of Zoological Record and BIOSIS and provides links to outside sources that cover science news articles, conferences, and to other relevant Web sites. By searching on the keyword ?ornithology,? the researcher will find 761 resources to investigate. Although not all of the links work, a wealth of information is still available. This database would be useful to anyone with an interest in ornithology from beginning to advanced birdwatchers, students, naturalists, and professional ornithologists.

BiologyBrowser. (2009). Retrieved August 16, 2009, from http://www.biologybrowser.org/cgi-bin/search/hyperseek.cgi?howmuch=Subject&Terms=ornithology&submit=Search.

BIOSIS PREVIEWS

This database is an abstracting and indexing reference that provides full text PDF viewing. With over 7,500 journals from over 100 countries and conference literature, it covers many traditional areas of biology including zoology from 1926 to present. By typing in the keyword ?ornithology? as the topic, 2,229 results are currently received. Each reference displays title, author(s), source, document type, subject terms, geographic terms, abstract, author(s) affiliations, ISSN, DOI, accession number, provides a persistent link to the record, database, images, and allows the researcher to click on citation and PDF full text. There is also a link to be able to get additional resources related to the reference being reviewed. This database would be useful to anyone with a serious interest in ornithology.

BIOSIS Previews. (2009). Retrieved August 17, 2009, from University of New Mexico Library Web of Knowledge databases.? This can also be accessed through Dialog file number 5.

Birds of North America Online

This database is published by Cornell Lab of Ornithology from Cornell University. It is a subscription database that allows the researcher to access species alphabetically by both common name and scientific name or taxonomically by the 20 orders and then by family. When clicking on a family, all of the species in that family drop down alphabetically. Each article includes vivid color images showing plumages, a distribution map, and key topics such as distinguishing characteristics, distribution, systematics, migration, etc. as well as audio recordings of songs and calls of the species. It is possible to preview several articles by visiting the Web site: http://bna.birds.cornell.edu/bna. This database would be useful to anyone with a casual or serious interest in birds from beginning birdwatchers to professional ornithologists.

Birds of North America Online. (2009). Retrieved August 19, 2009, from http://bna.birds.cornell.edu/bna from the University of New Mexico Library databases.

JSTOR Life Sciences

This database is a comprehensive journal archive that covers the life sciences that includes over 1,000 academic journals, select monographs, plus other materials that support academic work that allows the researcher to view the full text in a PDF version. By searching on the keyword ?ornithology,? 27,248 results are currently received. The database also allows the researcher to view images as well. This database would be useful to anyone with an interest in ornithology from beginning birdwatchers to professional ornithologists.

JSTOR. (2009). Retrieved August 16, 2009, from http://www.jstor.org.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/action/showBasicSearch.

Library, Information Science, & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)

This interdisciplinary database indexes books, book reviews, articles in more than 600 journals and periodicals, conference proceedings, and research reports. By searching on the keyword ?ornithology,? there are 58 results. This Web site is published by EBSCO Host. This database would be useful to anyone from beginning to advanced birdwatchers, students, naturalists, and professional ornithologists.

LISTA. (2009). Retrieved August 4, 2009, from http://web.ebscohost.com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/ehost/results?vid=3&hid=103&sid=bc4a6da8-cc0e-479e-b560-33c7a28502a9%40sessionmgr104&bquery=(ornithology)&bdata=JkF1dGhUeXBlPWlwLHVybCx1aWQsY29va2llJmRiPWx4aCZsb2dpbnBhZ2U9TG9naW4uYXNwJnR5cGU9MCZzaXRlPWVob3N0LWxpdmUmc2NvcGU9c2l0ZQ%3d%3d.

Scirus

This database searches both peer-reviewed scientific sources as well as open-access science Web sites. Using the keyword ?ornithology,? 4,531 journal sources are found, 2,194 preferred Web sources, and 210,617 ?other? Web sources. This database is published by Elsevier. It would be useful to anyone with an interest in ornithology from beginning to advanced birdwatchers, students, naturalists, and professional ornithologists.

Scirus. (2009). Retrieved August 4, 2009, from http://www.scirus.com/.

SORA: Searchable Ornithological Research Archive

A joint project between the Cooper Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico, this database is a free searchable ornithological archive to access 13 classic publications that date back as early as 1884 (The Auk). Titles represented are: Auk, Condor, International Wader Studies, Journal of Field Ornithology, Journal of Raptor Research, North American Bird Bander, North American Birds, Ornithological Monographs, Pacific Coast Avifauna, Studies in Avian Biology, Wader Studies Group /Bulletin, Western Birds, and Wilson Bulletin. This database would be useful to historical researchers or anyone seeking a historical perspective on ornithology.

SORA. (2009). Retrieved August 16, 2009, from http://elibrary.unm.edu/sora/.

Web of Science

This database has leading scholarly literature in the sciences along with proceedings from international conferences. Using the keyword ?ornithology? as the topic, it currently leads the researcher to articles, reviews, and proceedings for a total of 399 results. Additionally, the number of times the material has been cited is indicated. Most articles are not available in full text. This Web site is published by Thomson Reuters. This database would be useful to anyone with a serious interest in ornithology from beginner to advanced.

Web of Science. (2009). Retrieved August 15, 2009, from http://apps.isiknowledge.com.ezproxy2.library.drexel.edu/summary.do?product=WOS&qid=1&SID=4Dd2gfboPbNE97mNFb%40&search_mode=GeneralSearch.

Zoological Record

This database covers topics in animal science including areas of taxonomy, new geographical and fossil records, conservation and environmental science, marine and freshwater biology, veterinary science, parasitology, and new techniques. It strong points are natural history and taxonomy. It is an excellent resource for zoological information. It includes journal articles, proceedings from symposiums, meetings, and workshops, review articles, bibliographies, and books. It covers from 1864 to the present. By entering the keyword ?ornithology? as the topic, 2,653 results are currently received.

Zoological Record. (2009). Retrieved August 17, 2009, from University of New Mexico Library Web of Knowledge databases.? This can also be accessed through Dialog file number 185.

IntroductionAssociations and MeetingsDatabasesJournalsMonographs/BooksReference ResourcesWebsites

This Ornithology subject resource guide is available courtesy of Marcia Schiff ? 2009.