Archives and Databases

This subject resource guide is available courtesy of Jennifer Doherty?? 2009.? ?She can be contacted at jenniferadoherty@yahoo.com.

Introduction??? ?Archives and Databases???? Associations???? Catalogs and Conferences???? Journals???? Reference Works???? Research Groups and Organizations???? Websites and Electronic Resources

AeroBase Database?

AeroBase. (2009). http://library.dialog.com/bluesheets/html/bl0104.html

This database provides references, abstracts, and controlled-vocabulary indexing of key scientific and technical documents on research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences, as well as technology development and applications in fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics.? This database is the online equivalent of International Aerospace Abstracts (IAA), published by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics.? It also contains reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.

AIAA Electronic Library

AIAA electronic library. (2009). http://www.aiaa.org/content.cfm?pageid=298

The AIAA Electronic Library contains over four decades worth of aerospace related literature.? The library is searchable and the citation and first page are available for viewing for free.? Full-text is available to members or by subscription.

American Institute of Physics Journal Database

American institute of physics (AIP) journal database. (2009). http://scitation.aip.org

AIP publishes a series of scientific journals of interest to the aerospace scientific and engineering community.? Their database also collects materials from other organizations of interest such as the American Astronomical Society, AHS International ? Vertical Flight Society, American Society of Civil Engineers, etc.? Access to full-text is via membership or subscription.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital Library

American society of mechanical engineers digital library. (2009). http://www.asmedl.org/

ASME conducts one of the world’s largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession’s most prestigious journals, conference proceedings, and ASME Press books.? The ASME Digital Library is ASME’s primary repository of current and archival literature.? As the ASME Digital Library continues to expand, it ultimately will include the complete archive of ASME’s Transactions Journals dating back to 1880.? The collection contains several thousand records on aerospace-related topics and would be of interest primarily to engineers and possibly other aerospace scientists.? The library is searchable and the citation is available for viewing for free.? Full-text is available to members or by subscription.

Gale Group Aerospace/Defense Markets and Technology Database

Gale group Aerospace/Defense markets & technology (via DIALOG). (2009). http://library.dialog.com/bluesheets/html/bl0080.html

The database provides full-text articles and abstracts covering all aspects of the worldwide aerospace industry.? Companies outside the defense/aerospace sector use A/DM&T to locate information on new technologies; identify potential commercial applications; and to locate information that is often not reported in general business and trade literature.

International Astronautical Congress Technical Papers Archive

International astronautical congress technical papers archive., 2009, from http://www.aiaa.org/content.cfm?pageid=503

This online paper archive contains papers starting with the 2003 Congress and is searchable by title keyword, author name, paper number, and Congress year. Each year, the papers from the annual Congress are uploaded into the archive. The archive is hosted by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, a member of the International Astronautical Congress.? The archive is searchable and the citation and first page of each paper are available for viewing for free.? Full-text is available to members or by subscription.

NASA Image Exchange

NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program Office. (2009). NASA image exchange. http://nix.nasa.gov/

A database of NASA and space images collected from across the agency.? The database is both searchable and also has a browse capability as well.? Images can be downloaded for free.? This would be of interest to scientists and engineers as well as the general public.?

NASA Technical Reports Server

NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program Office. (2009). NASA technical reports server. http://ntrs.nasa.gov/search.jsp

The NASA Technical Report Server is a database of scientific and technical information produced or funded by NASA.? The materials are publicly available and have no limitations.? The database is maintained by the NASA Center for AeroSpace Information, under the direction of the NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program Office.? The materials are of interest for both the professional scientist and engineer as well as members of the public who are interested in space, the space program and space research.

NASA Aeronautics and Space Database

NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program Office. (2009). NASA aeronautics and space database

The NASA Aeronautics and Space Database is only available to registered users from the U.S. Government or their contractors.? The database contains scientific and technical information that is produced and/or funded by NASA as well as information that is produced by other organizations, but is of interest to the NASA research community.? The database is maintained by the NASA Center for AeroSpace Information, under the direction of the NASA Scientific and Technical Information Program Office.? The materials are collected for and used primarily by scientists and engineers within the NASA and governmental research community as a part of their daily work.

PubMed (MEDLINE)

PubMed (MEDLINE). (2009). http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/

PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 19 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and other life science journals back to 1948. Links to full text articles and other related resources are also included if available.? PubMed also contains a sub-collection entitled Space Life Sciences, which contains space medicine and other related materials.? This would be primarily of interest to scientists and engineers engaged in life support and other space related medical research.

The SAO/NASA Solar Data System

The SAO/NASA solar data system (2009). http://adswww.harvard.edu/

The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System (ADS) is a Digital Library portal for researchers in Astronomy and Physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant. The ADS maintains three bibliographic databases containing more than 7.8 million records: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and arXiv e-prints as well as the ADS Abstract Service (http://adswww.harvard.edu/ads_abstracts.html)

Introduction??? ?Archives and Databases???? Associations???? Catalogs and Conferences???? Journals Reference Works???? Research Groups and Organizations???? Websites and Electronic Resources

This subject resource guide is available courtesy of Jennifer Doherty?? 2009.? ?She can be contacted at jenniferadoherty@yahoo.com.